Picture for inspired you

Michigan Car Seat Laws

Michigan Car Seat Laws

Michigan Car Seat Laws

Cell Phones and Texting In Michigan it is illegal for any teen with a Graduated Driver’s License (Level 1 or 2) to use a cell phone while operating a vehicle. The new law, which went into effect March 28, 2013, carries heavy penalties if a teen is caught violating the new law. this can include having your probationary period extended or having your license further restricted or suspended. For exemption to this law visit the Secretary of State website Texting is banned in the state of Michigan. This applies to all drivers, regardless of age, while behind the wheel. Seat Belts Everyone riding in the front seat of a vehicle must wear a seat belt. Those 8 through 15 years old need to wear a seat belt in all seating positions and those under 8 years old or under 4 ft 9 inches must be in an approved child safety seat. The type of the safety seat depends on the age, height and weight of the child. If a rider is detected not wearing a seat belt, state law allows police officers to pull the vehicle over just for that reason. Child Car Seat Laws When riding in a vehicle, children under 4 years old must be properly secured in an approved safety seat. in the rear of the vehicle. The only time a child under 4 years old may ride in the front seat of a vehicle is if all other seats are occupied by children under 4 years old. Children weighing under 20 lbs must face the rear of the vehicle. Additionally, older children must be seated in a booster seat until they are at least 8 years old or 4 ft 9 inches tall. If you’re in the market for one, you can shop online for a car seat at any time. When ordering, be sure the car seat matches your child’s height, weight and age. Note: Children are best protected by sitting in the middle of the back seat. Rear-facing child seats shouldn’t be used in the front seat of a vehicle with air bags.
michigan car seat laws 1

Michigan Car Seat Laws

Child Passenger Safety Law Michigan’s Child Passenger Safety Law requires: Children younger than age 4 to ride in a car seat in the rear seat if the vehicle has a rear seat. If all available rear seats are occupied by children under 4, then a child under 4 may ride in a car seat in the front seat. A child in a rear-facing car seat may only ride in the front seat if the airbag is turned off. Children must be properly buckled in a car seat or booster seat until they are 8 years old or 4-feet-9-inches tall. Children must ride in a seat until they reach the age requirement or the height requirement, whichever comes first.
michigan car seat laws 2

Michigan Car Seat Laws

Yesterday, I wrote about the current car seat law.  I also discussed the questions we received from many concerned parents after I wrote about the proposed changes to Michigan’s car seat laws under Senate Bill 1135, which did not become law in Michigan. You can read my earlier blog and the questions I received here: “Senate votes to change Michigan’s car seat law.”
michigan car seat laws 3

Michigan Car Seat Laws

A bill in the state House would change car seat requirements for Michigan children. Right now, the state’s child safety restraint regulations are generally based on age and height.  Under the bill, a child’s weight would also be included. Amy Zaagman with the Michigan Council for Maternal and Child Health says the legislation would bring Michigan up to date with national standards. She says the state’s current regulations are “insufficient” and create a gap between state law and national recommendations. “I think most families want to do what’s in the best interest of their kid. They’re just a little confused about whether that’s what the American Academy of Pediatrics recommendations are or what the law is,” Zaagman said. The legislation would require a child to be seated and positioned as follows: In a rear-facing child seat, if the child weighs 30 pounds or less or is under two years of age. In a forward-facing child seat if the child weighs 30 pounds or more but under 50 pounds, or is two years of age or older but under five years of age. In a booster seat if the child is under 57 inches tall and weighs 50 pounds or more, or is five years old or older but under 10 years of age.
michigan car seat laws 4

Michigan Car Seat Laws

1 in 3 children who died in a car accident during the past decade was not properly secured By Vincent Duffy • Feb 22, 2014 CDC Child deaths in car crashes have declined by 43% over the last ten years. But the Center for Disease Control and Prevention says there’s still work to do. The CDC says one in three children 12 or younger that die in a car accident is still not properly restrained. Dr. Erin Sauber-Schatz is with the CDC.   She says parent education and car seat distribution help make sure more children are buckled up properly, and she supports Michigan’s car seat laws.
michigan car seat laws 5

Michigan Car Seat Laws

Until recently, a person who violated Michigan’s child-passenger safety laws could avoid paying any fine by obtaining a car seat and showing it to the court. If a seat was presented to the court, the judge was required to waive the fine. Apparently, however, some people were avoiding the fine by temporarily obtaining a car seat, showing it to the court and then returning it to the rightful owner or to the retailer.
michigan car seat laws 6

Michigan Car Seat Laws

Michigan's child welfare system is meeting federal goals By The Associated Press • Dec 21, 2015 Public Domain Michigan officials say the state is now complying with federal requirements for child welfare and foster care. Gov. Rick Snyder’s administration said Monday that Michigan has completed a program improvement plan required by the U.S. Administration for Children and Families. Federal officials determined the state wasn’t in compliance in 2009. Officials say by meeting the federal goals, about $2.8 million in federal penalties have been rescinded.
michigan car seat laws 7

Michigan Car Seat Laws

That’s not all. Children are actually the safest when a car or booster seat is installed in the middle of the back seat. And when you’re buying a seat, be sure it fits the age, weight and height of the child. Also, do not buy a second-hand car seat from a friend or at a garage sale because: 1) it may be damaged and not work properly, 2) it may have missing parts or 3) it may not include the instructions for proper installation.
michigan car seat laws 8

Today, I want to go into more depth. Our attorneys have created a chart that explains current child age and height requirements for car seats, and child car seat safety requirements. And below this, we have police guidance and suggestions from the Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning on best practices for parents and anyone entrusted with the responsibility of transporting children in cars.
michigan car seat laws 9

How old should a child be to ride in the front seat of a vehicle? Most organizations recommend that children age 13 and older may ride in the front seat, buckled up at all times. All passengers under 16 years old must use a seat belt in any seating position and all front seat occupants must use a seat belt, regardless of their age.

Car crashes are a leading cause of death for children ages 1 to 13. In fact, more than 70 percent of child car seats are improperly installed, leaving our youngest passengers with little protection in an Michigan auto accident.
michigan car seat laws 11

Just like any other traffic violation, a person can be issued a ticket under the Michigan Vehicle Code for violating the state’s child-passenger safety laws. A violation is a civil infraction and the person may be ordered to pay a fine, plus costs and a $40 justice system assessment.
michigan car seat laws 12

If you’re in the market for one, you can shop online for a car seat at any time. When ordering, be sure the car seat matches your child’s height, weight and age.
michigan car seat laws 13

This is an amendment to the original law instituted in 2001, that recommends that all children up to 65 pounds remain in car seats and boosters, but that didn’t take into account the weight of car seats. According to published reports, auto makers cannot guarantee the strength of the anchors when adding the additional weight of the seat, thus the need to modify the law.
michigan car seat laws 14

In Michigan it is illegal for any teen with a Graduated Driver’s License (Level 1 or 2) to use a cell phone while operating a vehicle. The new law, which went into effect March 28, 2013, carries heavy penalties if a teen is caught violating the new law. this can include having your probationary period extended or having your license further restricted or suspended. For exemption to this law visit the Secretary of State website
michigan car seat laws 15

Unlike some states, Michigan doesn’t have a single, centralized number to call to report drivers who appear to be inebriated. So, to report dangerous drivers, simply call 911.
michigan car seat laws 16

Parents who take a “spare the rod, spoil the child” approach to discipline are doing their children more harm than good, according to a new study. The study from the University of Michigan and University of Texas says spanking can have long-term detrimental effects on children, including mental health problems, cognitive difficulties and aggressive behavior. Study co-author Andy Grogan-Kaylor, an associate professor with the U of M School of Social Work, says the outcomes are similar to child abuse, to a slightly lesser degree.

Gallery of Michigan Car Seat Laws

Write your feedback about "Michigan Car Seat Laws" here

Post that Related with Michigan Car Seat Laws

Weather In Carmel Ca

Weather In Carmel Ca

Ace Rent A Car

Ace Rent A Car

Ocarina Of Time Rom

Ocarina Of Time Rom

Cleaning Leather Car Seats

Cleaning Leather Car Seats

Car Seats At Walmart

Car Seats At Walmart

Carroll County Animal Shelter

Carroll County Animal Shelter